Editing team members

You can update a team member's permissions, account access, and work details from their profile. To make changes, you need to be an admin or have the User management permission.

Editing permissions and account access

A team member’s role determines their permissions and which accounts they can access:
  • Permissions determine what actions a team member can take, such as sending money
  • Account access determines which accounts a team member can view and interact with, based on their permissions

For example, if they have access to Account X and the Send money permission, they can send money from Account X. Without access, the account details and balances are hidden and they're unable to interact with the account.
 
Note: Users with the Teammate role cannot access or view any account details, balances, or transactions, other than their own transactions.
 
To change a team member's permissions or account access, you can switch them to an existing role or create a new role with the settings they need.
 
For more information, see Understanding roles and permissions.

How to edit permissions and account access

  1. Select the team member's name to open their profile
  2. Find the Permissions section and click on the edit icon
    • If your organization is using Mercury Payroll, you’ll find this section under the “Details” tab
  3. Review that role’s permissions and account access. You can also view other roles’ permissions and account access by selecting them from the role dropdown
  4. Choose how you’d like to update their role:
    • Switch to an existing role : Select the role that fits, then click Save
    • Create a new role: In the role dropdown, select Create new role. When you're done, you'll return to the team member's profile. Open Permissions again, select the new role, then select Save
 
Note: If your organization has dual admin approval on, and you give a team member Send money permissions or want to make them an admin, the change will require another admin to approve.

Account access doesn't affect cards. If a team member loses access to an account, cards linked to that account stay active.

Viewing and editing details for team members

Any member who is an admin or has the User management permission can view member details and edit certain information for others in their organization.
Detail Type What admins and members with User management permissions can do
Legal name Ask the user to change their own information
Preferred name Ask the user to change their own information
Email Ask the user to change their own information

*If your organization uses Mercury Payroll, you can edit a team member's work email. 
Job title Edit directly

How to view and edit details for team members

  1. Find the team member’s name and click on it to open up their details
  2. Scroll to the "Details" sections to view member details
    • If your organization is using Mercury payroll, this will be in the Details tab in each user’s details
  3. For editable details, hover over the detail you want to update and click the edit icon
  4. Make your changes and click Save
 
Mercury is a fintech company, not an FDIC-insured bank. Banking services provided through Choice Financial Group and Column N.A., Members FDIC.

Did you find this article helpful?